Why A Figurative Painter Paints A Landscape

Several years ago, I was at the Lucien Freud exhibit at MOCA of his vey large figurative oil paintings of large, ruddy people, when I was relieved to find a room full of landscape paintings. I found solace in the fact that I was not the only artist with duel obsessions, torn between the figure and the landscape. The landscape so much more malleable, the figure so impactful and narrative. For now, I offer you a new original oil landscape of a golf course in Wailea. Some may call it romantic or nolstagic when compared to my figurative paintings, they may find this particular golf landscape too Classicist, but I just can't resist the urge to paint them, and my collectors of this genre of my work, love having them. How can that be bad?

To check out all of my landscapes, go to my Landscape Gallery.

Leave a Reply

